SEO Glossary of Terms

Transalpine has a department specialised in the highly technical field of website content optimization. Here we explain some of the most important technical terms used in Search Engine Optimization (SEO).

Return to SEO Index

SEO Glossary of Terms

SEO Index

301 redirect

A permanent redirect. A better option than the temporary 302 redirect, since 301 passes link juice, while 302 does not.

Algorithm

Numerical analysis of data from a wide range of sources. Each search engine (Google, Bing, ... etc.) has its own algorithms by which they initially assess and then monitor on a regular basis how much a site is likely to satisfy a search query. These algorithms are adapted continuously to the changing Internet, the needs of searchers, and to counter illegitimate practices, such as spamming.

Authority

A major search engine algorithm parameter. The relative authority of a site is determined from how well the site is respected and referenced by the quality sites within the online community it resides. In measuring authority, the perceived authority and relevance of the linking sites is more important than the number of links in total.

Backlink

A link from an external site to a site or page. Backlinks are important for assessing popularity and authority of a site for specific themes and keywords. The context of the internet community from where the links come from, as well as the quality (authority and popularity) of the external sites is also an important indicator. It is better to have a few links from high-quality sites than many from irrelevant, low-quality sites.

Bounce Rate

A parameter used to judge how satisfied a user is by the website the search engine has directed them to in response to a query. 100% bounce rate means the visitor left the site without opening a second page. This is interpreted as the site being irrelevant for the query. Too many results of this type will cause the Search Engine to begin to downgrade a site for that and similar search queries.

Brainstorming

A formal procedure in which a cross-disciplinary team meet in an intensive session to find creative solutions to problems. Brainstorming lays emphasis on lateral thinking techniques and non-exclusion of any ideas during the initial phases. In SEO consultation, brainstorming is a standard tool to utilise the in-house knowledge of all departments of a company, and to expose bias in marketing and development strategies. It also serves as an opportunity to communicate that SEO as the responsibility of everyone in an enterprise.

Canonicalization

Multiple versions of the same site or parts. The principle of identifying clearly the 'official' version of content that may appear in more than one location is standard good SEO practice. For example, each domain has a URL with and without the 'www.' prefix. A 301 redirect should be used from one to the other to ensure that link juice is not being divided between what the search engine sees as two distinct domains.

Cloaking

The practice of deceiving users as to the content of a page, while presenting search engines with a different profile. A simple example would be mislabeling elements which are visible only to humans: such as images, AV and Flash content. Google sees a title and alt text, and assumes the content of the video or image is true to that. Cloaking would take advantage of that to present users with different content, such as an ad or worse.

Consultant

SEO professionals who advise clients on such matters as keyword analysis, site and content optimization, targeted audience behaviour, monitoring of site performance, and backlink generation.

Content Design

A branch of SEO concerned with the quality of content within a website. Its primary aim is to provide a site with material in sufficient quality and abundance, language options and degree of authority, that other sites within its online community voluntarily link to it and use it as a prime reference.

Content Engineering

A branch of web design concerned with the structuring of information within a formal architecture. SEO is concerned that this information architecture (IA) provides the desired level of access to search engines, so that they can build an accurate and fair index, and that human visitors may navigate easily through it. The hardest part of content engineering is ensuring relevant cross references between materials at the same hierarchical level.

Content Inventory

A formal phase of SEO consultation, in which existing online content is analysed for suitability, placement and performance in terms of the SEO parameters of keyword targeting, link patterns, and semantic mapping. Material that is not online may also be integrated into the inventory if deemed suitable for online publication.

Crawling

When a programme, often called a 'spider', passes through websites via sitemaps and hyperlink paths, and generates an index of the World Wide Web. Spiders pass through a domain on average every 6-12 weeks, and index a maximum of 1000 pages per domain. Their behaviour on the site can be controlled to some extent by the domain publisher.

De-personalization

The removal of Google personalization settings which distort search returns. SEO practitioners should view the internet as much as possible as anyone else would.

Folksonomy

A system of collaborative tagging of items in a catalogue, so that on a large scale a reliable naming and classification of the items will emerge.

Geolocation

The information and techniques employed to create a strong association between a site and a region or locality. Among the techniques are choosing a country-code TLD (.ch) in preference to a global TLD (.com), adding the address to every page, employing GoogleMaps locators, and associating the site with the local telephone directory entry, and other companies which are localised.

Global Navigation

Whole-site system for the orientation of the user. Beyond ensuring that every page has an evident return to home button (a logo is an effective continuity for this), a 'breadcrumb' system is useful. This works like the stub system on wikipedia.org, where the path from the homepage, through the various levels and category and sub-category pages, to the current page can be seen as a logical sequence.

Indexing

The records kept about sites on the World Wide Web, formed from data collected by spiders. Indexes are the results of machine learning algorithms which interpret and evaluate many different parameters, such as link density, semantic analysis of content, and keyword placement.

Keyword

A word or phrase which is expected to be used regularly by searchers as their input string for a specific topic. Keyword analysis and targeting are important techniques in SEO.

Keyword Analysis

A set of tools and techniques to acquire an accurate understanding of the relative importance of keywords for a specific site or page. Keyword analysis is done as an initial step in the SEO consultation process, and involves brainstorming, with the participation of all stakeholders.

Keyword Cannibalization

The negative effect of conflicts in keyword targeting, confusing human searchers and search engines as to which page is the best match for specific keywords in searches. Cannibalization is countered by carefully structured hierarchies in the information architecture.

Keyword Placement

The various elements of a page do not have the same weighting in terms of contribution to overall ranking importance. SEO is concerned with developing a strategy for placement of keywords to target individual pages for specific search queries, while avoiding keyword cannibalization.

Keyword Targeting

The practical application of the knowledge gained in keyword analysis. Keyword targeting is a page by page application of keywords which specifically channel search query results to the most relevant pages on a site. A global plan for keywords is integrated into the information architecture of a site to prevent keyword cannibalization.

Link Farming

Abusive attempts to gain authority by excessive backlinks with low relevance. This is one of the deadly sins that Google is on the look out for.

Link Juice

The enhancement of a site's authority on a subject for a search engine through relevant and judicious links and backlinks. SEO consultants and site designers seek ways to increase and internally distribute a site's link juice.

Long Tail

The 70% of all search queries using terms which are not popular enough to be considered keywords. These may be highly specific queries (e.g. 'Brother DCP-365CN' instead of 'printer'), foreign terms in primarily English queries, less-popular synonyms and morphemes, misspellings, colloquialisms, and the plain weird. Named after the shape of the graph of frequency of term use in queries, which has 30% of queries based on a few known keywords, but 70% forming a long, rapidly diminishing frequency 'tail'. The long tail is a much more difficult area to exploit than obvious keywords, but can bring considerable benefits if incorporated well into a keyword targeting strategy.

Meta data

The information (description, author, keywords) stored in meta tags in the head section of an HTML page. Only the title is used by search engines for page ranking purposes. Description is an important human visitor advertisement in the SERP list, and keywords has no value at all to machine or beast.

Organic results

Non-paid returns to queries in the SERP (Search Engine Results Page). Sites are indexed and evaluated by algorithms to assess their suitability as matches for specific keywords in the query. Long-term good ranking from organic searches is the aim of SEO.

Paid results

Sites may be returned for specific keyword searches, irrespective of their evaluation by the search engine algorithms. The results are displayed prominently at the top of the SERP, and must be paid for. Competitive bidding for important keywords makes paid results an ever more expensive way to advertise. SEO utilises data available from paid results tools, such as keyword analytics, but proposes that organic results is a better return on investment strategy.

Popularity

A major search engine algorithm parameter. The popularity of a site is essentially how much traffic it receives, and the number of backlinks it has. However, the algorithms do weight these parameters by traffic type and backlinking site quality and relevance.

Ranking

The non-paid (organic) position of a site or other resource on a SERP in response to a particular search query. The aim of SEO is to improve rankings by optimizing a site for the key parameters used by search engines to determine ranking.

Relevance

A major search engine algorithm parameter. The relevance of a site or page is how well it matches the intent of a search query. Key parameters in measuring relevance include user response to the SERP listing (click-through and bounce rates). Do searchers click through to the site for specific keywords, and if they do, do they continue on the site, or return immediately to the SERP (bounce)?

Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

The specific techniques in design and content of a website to enhance through fair techniques the search engine return page (SERP) results. In the Web 2.0 Internet of today, SEO is the primary factor in the success or failure of an online business. SEO is very dependent on the changes in search engine algorithms which control the way in which organic search queries assess the relevance and value of a website to satisfy the probable expectations of the user.

Semantic Analysis

A method by which search engines develop a map of the content of a page, and in particular how well the content is true to the theme profile presented through keywords in titles and headings. Semantic analysis is a tool to counter spamming, and to establish the relative value of a page for specific search queries.

Semantic Connectivity

A determination of how well content links within a page and to other pages of a site, or other sites, are relevant to each other.

Semantic Map

A description of a page's semantic connectivity and structure resulting from document analysis, based on data collected by a spider. It is used in conjunction with algorithms which categorise by parameters of authority, relevance, importance and popularity, to develop a profile of a page's suitability as a response to specific keywords in queries.

SERP

Search Engine Results Page. The page of possible websites and other internet resources, such as videos, images, maps, which may satisfy a searcher's query. SERPs return websites ranked according to parameters such as relevance and authority. Most results are organic, chosen from the search engine indexes, but some are paid by the site owners to obtain prominent rankings.

Spamming

Attempts to raise the rankings of a low-quality site through techniques which are unfair and misleading to the user, and which search engines have declared to be illegitimate. Spamming includes cloaking, keyword stuffing, content theft, page scraping, content duplication, mislabelled links, and link farming.

Spider

Search engines collect information about a site by the use of 'spiders'. The site is accessed and information is collected. These include, for example, the regularity of use of certain keywords, and the relative value and relevancy of key elements, such as titles and site internal structure. Links to and out from the site are also assessed.

Structure

Also known as information architecture, structure is concerned with the accessibility of information and the clarity of its presentation and thematic fidelity, in logical, readily understood patterns. In CMS systems, structure must ensure self-replicability to any scale, without loss of accessibility and clarity.

SWOT

Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats. A technique in marketing which facilitates analysis of a company with respect to competitors.

Title

The page title, found in the head section of an HTML document, is the highest ranking keyword location opportunity. Contrary to popular belief, the title is the only piece of meta data which is considered by search engines in their page ranking systems.

URL

Universal Resource Locator. The URL is the address of a page that appears in the long field in the control bar at the top of all browsers. e.g. http://www.sciencelibrary.info/library/computing/seo/Glossary_of_SEO_terms.php. The URL is a major indicator to a search engine and human navigators about the nature of the site. It should be clearly legible, not contain codes and illegible flags, and the suffix should be local (e.g. country code .ch, .co.uk) for geolocation of the site to a region. Generic top level domains (.com, .info, .net) should only be used for genuinely international sites, since they lose ranking importance for local service queries.

Transalpine traduzioni

Quote of the day...

If I were to awaken after having slept for a thousand years, my first question would be: Has the Riemann hypothesis been proven?

ZumGuy Internet Promotions

Umwelt.Science

Glossar Fachbegriffe SEO

Transalpine hat eine Abteilung, die in dem Bereich der Website-Such-Optimierung spezialisiert ist. Wir erklären hier, die Fachbegriffe von SEO.

Zurück zum SEO-Index

Glossar Fachbegriffe SEO

SEO Index

Algorithmus

Numerische Analyse von Daten aus einer Vielzahl von Quellen. Jede Suchmaschine (Google, Bing, usw.) hat ihre eigenen Algorithmen, mit denen sie prüft, wie viel eine Website die Kriterien einer Suchanfrage erfüllt. Diese Algorithmen werden kontinuierlich an das sich ändernde Internet und den Bedürfnissen der Anwender/Sucher angepasst und zudem gegen illegitime Praktiken wie Spamming eingesetzt.

Authorität

Ein wichtiger Suchmaschine-Parameter. Die relative Autorität einer Site wird bestimmt durch wie gut die Site respektiert wird und wie oft auf sie verwiesen wird von hochqualitativen Websites innerhalb der Internet Community. In der Messung der Autorität, die wahrgenommene Autorität und die Relevanz der verlinkten Sites sind wichtiger als die Gesamtanzahl Links.

Backlink

Ein Rückverweis von einer externen Site auf eine Website. Backlinks sind wichtig für die Bewertung von Popularität einer Site für bestimmte Parametern und Schlüsselwörter. Der Zusammenhang mit der Internet-Community, von wo die Links stammen, aber auch die Qualität (Autorität und Popularität) der verlinkten Sites, ist auch ein wichtiger Indikator. Es ist besser, einige wenige Links von qualitativ hochwertigen Websites zu haben, als viele von irrelevanten, minderwertige Seiten.

Bezahlte SERP Resultaten

Seiten können für bestimmte Stichwortsuchen unabhängig von ihrer Bewertung durch die Suchmaschinenalgorithmen, angezeigt werden. Die Ergebnisse werden deutlich sichtbar an der Spitze der SERP angezeigt und müssen bezahlt werden. Auktionen für wichtige Keywords machen solche bezahlte Ergebnisse eine immer teurere Art zu werben. SEO nutzt Daten aus den Ergebnis bezahlter Tools (z.B. Keyword-Analyse), schlägt aber vor, dass organische Ergebnisse ein besserer Return auf die Investment Strategie erbringen.

Bounce Rate

[Absprungrate] Ein Parameter, der bedeutet ob der Besucher zufrieden war mit der Website, die die Suchmaschine vorgeschlagen hat, als Antwort auf den Suchbegriff. 100% Bounce Rate bedeutet, dass der Besucher die Website verlassen hat, ohne eine zweite Seite anzuschauen. Dies wird interpretiert, dass die Website irrelevant ist für die Abfrage. Zu viele solche Ergebnisse bewirken, dass die Suchmaschine die Website für diese und ähnliche Suchwörter herunterstuft (downgrade).

Brainstorming

Ein formelles Verfahren, in dem ein fachübergreifendes Team sich in einer intensiven Sitzung trifft, um kreative Lösungen für Probleme zu finden. Brainstorming charakterisiert sich mit Techniken des lateral thinking, und schliesst keine Idee von Beginn weg aus. Brainstorming ist in SEO Beratungen ein Standardwerkzeug, um das vorhandene Wissen über alle Abteilungen eines Unternehmens zu nutzen, und Vorurteile bei der Marketing- und Entwicklungsstrategien auszuschliessen. Es dient auch als eine Gelegenheit, allen Teilnehmer zu kommunizieren, dass die SEO in Verantwortung aller liegt.

Canonicalization

Mehrere Versionen derselben Website oder Teilen davon. Das Prinzip der klaren Identifizierung der "offizielle" Version des Inhalts, welcher in mehr als nur einem Ort auftauchen kann, ist Standard SEO-Praxis. Zum Beispiel hat jede Domain eine URL mit, aber auch ohne das Präfix "www.". Eine 301-Weiterleitung sollte von einem zum anderen verwendet werden, um sicherzustellen, dass Link Juice nicht aufgeteilt wird, was die Suchmaschine als zwei unterschiedliche Domänen sieht.

Cloaking

Die Praxis der Täuschung des Benutzers wegen dem Inhalt einer Website, während die Suchmaschine eine andere Version sieht. Ein einfaches Beispiel wäre die falsche Beschriftung von Elementen, die nur für Menschen sichtbar sind: wie Bilder, AV und Flash-Inhalte. Google sieht lediglich die Titel und alt Texte und nimmt an, dass der Inhalt der Videos oder Bilder dazu stimmt. Cloaking nutzt dies aus, um Benutzer mit verschiedenen Inhalten, wie beispielsweise einer Werbung (oder schlimmer) zu präsentieren.

Content Design

[Inhalt Gestaltung] Ein Zweig der SEO, der sich mit der Qualität und Struktur der Inhalte einer Website befasst. Ihr Hauptziel ist es, eine Website mit Material in ausreichender Qualität und Fülle, Sprachoptionen und der Grad der Autorität vorzulegen, dass andere Websites innerhalb seiner Online Community freiwillig auf sie verlinken und diese als primäre Referenz verwenden.

Content Engineering

[Inhalt Gestaltung] Ein Zweig des Web-Design, der sich mit der Strukturierung von Informationen in einem formalen Architektur befasst. SEO ist besorgt, dass diese Informationsarchitektur (IA) den gewünschten Zugriffsgrad für Suchmaschinen erlaubt, so dass sie einen genaue und fairen Index erstellen können, und dass menschliche Besucher darin leicht navigieren können. Der schwierigste Teil des Content Engineering ist die Gewährleistung relevanter Querverweise zwischen den Materialien auf der gleichen Hierarchieebene.

Crawling

[Krabbeln] Ein Programm, oft Spider (Spinne) genannt, welches via vernetzte Hyperlink-Pfade durch Websites gelangt und einen Index des World Wide Web erzeugt. Spiders durchlaufen eine Domäne durchschnittlich alle 6-12 Wochen und verzeichnen maximal 1000 Seiten pro Domain. Sein Verhalten auf der Website kann zu einem gewissen Grad durch den Domain Verleger gesteuert sein.

De-Personalisierung

Die Entfernung von Google Personalisierungseinstellungen, die Suchergebnisse verzerren. SEO Praktiker sollten das Internet anschauen, wie es jeder andere tun würde. (d.h. ohne Nerd Perspektive!).

Folksonomy

[Auch social tagging] Ein System von kollaborativen Tagging der Elemente in einem Katalog, so dass eine zuverlässige Benennung und Klassifizierung der Elementen im grossem Umfang entsteht.

Geolocation

Die eingesetzten Informationen und Techniken, um eine starke Verbindung zwischen einer Website und seinem Operationsgebiet zu schaffen. Unter den Methoden sind die Auswahl eines Landes-Code TLD (ccTLD, country-code top Level domain, wie .ch), vorzuzuiehen im Vergleich zu einem globalen TLD (wie .com). Hinzugefügt wird die Adresse auf jeder Seite, Google Locators wird verwendet, der Website wird ein lokaler Telefonbucheintrag zugeordnet und anderen Unternehmen werden lokalisiert.

Globale Navigation

Website System zur Orientierung des Benutzers. Darüber hinaus gewährleistet es, dass jede Seite eine Rückkehr zur Home Taste hat (ein Logo ist eine effektive Kontinuität dafür). Für diesen Zweck ist ein "Breadcrumb" System sehr nützlich. Dies funktioniert wie das Katalogsystem auf wikipedia.org, wo der Weg von der Homepage, durch die verschiedenen Seiten der Ebenen, Kategorien und Unterkategorien Seiten, auf die aktuelle Seite als logische Abfolge zu sehen ist.

Indexing

Die Aufzeichnungen über die Webseiten des World Wide Webs, welche von Daten der Spiders gesammelt wurden. Indizes sind die Ergebnisse der Algorithmen des maschinellen Lernens, welche viele verschiedene Parameter interpretieren und bewerten, wie zum Beispiel Link Density (Verweisungsdichte), semantische Analyse von Inhalt, und Keyword-Platzierung.

Inhalt Inventar

Eine formelle Phase der SEO Beratung, in welcher bestehenden Online-Inhalte für ihre Eignung, Platzierung und Leistung in Bezug auf die SEO-Parameter des Keyword-Targeting, Link Muster und semantisches Mapping analysiert werden. Material, das nicht online ist, kann auch in den Bestand integriert werden, falls es als geeignet für Online-Publikation betrachtet wird.

Keyword Cannibalization

[Schlüsselwort Kanibalisierung] Die negativen Auswirkungen von Konflikten in Keyword-Targeting, welche für Menschen und Suchmaschinen verwirrend sind auf welche das Stichwort am besten passt. Im Suchprozess, Keyword Cannibalization wird gemindert durch eine sorgfältige Strukturierung von Hierarchien in der Architektur er Informationen.

Keyword Targeting

Keyword Targeting ist die praktische Anwendung der Erkenntnisse von der Keyword-Analyse. Keyword-Targeting ist eine wiederholende Anwendung von Stichworten, die Suchabfrageergebnisse zu der entsprechenden Seite auf einer Website steuert. Ein globaler Plan für Keywords ist in der Informationsarchitektur einer Website integriert, um Keyword Kannibalisierung zu verhindern.

Link Farming

[Verweisen kaufen] Missbräuchliche Versuche, Autorität durch übermäßiges Backlinks mit geringer Relevanz zu gewinnen. Dies ist eine der Todsünden, welche von Google gesucht wird.

Link Juice

[Verweisender Saft] Die Verstärkung der Autorität einer Website für eine Suchmaschine durch relevante und sinnvolle Links und Backlinks. SEO Berater und Site-Designer suchen nach Möglichkeiten, den Link Juice zu erhöhen und diesen über der Website zu verteilen.

Long Tail

[Langer Schwanz] 70% aller Suchanfragen benutzen Begriffe, die nicht genug bekannt sind, um als Stichwort bezeichnet zu werden. Diese können sein: sehr spezifische Anfragen (z.B.: Brother DCP-365CN, anstelle von Drucker), fremde Begriffe in englischen Suchanfrage, unbekannte Synonyme, Rechtschreibefehler, Umgangssprache, oder einfach Unverständliches. Benannt nach der Form eines Graphen, welcher die Häufigkeit der Suchabfragen darstellt, basieren 30% der Abfragen auf einigen bekannten Keywords. Die übrigen 70% jedoch bilden einen langen, schnell abnehmende Frequenzkurve (der sog. Rattenschwanz). Der Bereich des langen Schwanzes ist viel schwieriger auszunutzen, kann jedoch einen entscheidenden Vorteil bringen, wenn er gut in der Keyword Targeting Strategie eingebaut ist.

Meta data

Informationen (Beschreibung, Autor, Stichworte) die in der Head Sektion einer HTML Seite gespeichert ist. Nur den title wird von Suchmaschinen für Seitenklassifikationzwecke benutzt. Description ist eine sehr wichtige Werbung, die menschliche Besucher in den Suchergebnissen sehen. keywords erfüllt keinen Zweck für den Mensch und die Maschine.

Organische Ergebnisse

Nicht bezahlte Suchergebnisse in der SERP (Search Engine Results Page). Websites werden von Algorithmen indexiert und bewertet, um ihre Eignung für bestimmte Keywords in der Abfrage zu beurteilen. Eine langfristig gute Platzierung von organischen Suchanfragen ist das Ziel der SEO.

Popularität

Ein sehr wichtiger Parameter des Suchmaschinenalgorithmus. Die Popularität einer Website ist im Wesentlichen gegeben durch den Verkehr, welcher sie empfängt, und die Anzahl der Backlinks, welche sie hat. Zu bemerken ist, dass die Algorithmen diese Parameter gewichten nach Traffic-Typ, Qualität des Backlinking und Relevanz.

Ranking

Die nicht bezahlte (organische) Position einer Website oder andere Ressource in einem SERP (Suchergebnissseite) in Antwort auf eine bestimmte Suchabfrage. Das Ziel von SEO ist es, die Rankings durch die Optimierung einer Website für die Rang bestimmenden Parameter von Suchmaschinen zu verbessern.

Redirect 301

[(Umleitung 301] Eine dauerhaft Umleitung einer Website oder eines Teiles davon. Eine bessere Option als das kurzfristige 302 redirect, dass alle SEO-Wert verliert.

Relevanz

Ein wichtiger Parameter des Suchmaschinenalgorithmus. Die Relevanz einer Website oder Seite wird bestimmt durch, wie gut sie der Absicht einer Suchanfrage entspricht. Die Relevanz ist stark durch die semantische Analyse des Inhaltes der Website und ihrer wahrgenommenen Autorität beeinflusst. Backlinks und Keyword-Platzierung stehen im Mittelpunkt der SEO zur Verbesserung der Relevanz der Website für spezifisches Suchen von Themen. Wichtige Parameter bei der Messung von Relevanz sind die Reaktionen der Benutzer auf die SERP Auflistung (Click-through und Absprungraten). Klicken Nutzer auf der Website-Link für ein Spezifisches Stichwort? Und falls ja, fahren Sie weiter durch die Website oder kehren Sie sofort zurück zur SERP (bounce)?

Schlüsselwort Platzierung

Die verschiedenen Elemente einer Seite haben unterschiedliche Gewichtung in Bezug auf die Ermittlung des Ranking. SEO beinhaltet die Entwicklung einer Strategie für die Platzierung von Stichworten auf einzelnen Seiten für bestimmte Suchbegriffe (targeted keywords), während die Gefahr der Keyword-Cannibalization vermeidet wird.

Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

Spezifische Techniken des Website Design, um das Ranking einer Website in den Suchmaschinenergebnissen (SERP) zu verbessern. Im Web 2.0, das heutige Internet, ist SEO der wichtigste Faktor hinten dem Erfolg oder Misserfolg eines Onlinegeschäft. SEO ist sehr abhängig von den Veränderungen der Suchmaschinenalgorithmen, welche den Weg kontrollieren, in welcher organische Suchanfragen die Relevanz und den Wert der Website prüfen, um den User und deren Erwartung zu befriedigen.

Semantic Connectivity

Eine Bestimmung, wie gut der Inhalt innerhalb einer Seite auf eine andere verlinkt, oder wie stark diese zueinander relevant sind.

Semantic Map

Eine Beschreibung der semantischen Konnektivität und die Struktur einer Seite, basierend auf den gesammelten Daten der Spider. Es wird in Verbindung mit Algorithmen benutzt, die durch die Parameter Autorität, Relevanz, Bedeutung und Popularität kategorisieren, um ein Eignungsprofil einer Seite zu entwickeln bezüglich einer spezifischen Keyword-Anfrage.

Semantische Analyse

Eine Methode, mit der Suchmaschinen eine Sitemap des Inhalt einer Seite entwickeln. Insbesondere geht es darum, wie gut der Inhalt mit dem Thema übereinstimmt, welches durch Keywords in Titeln und überschriften dargestellt wird. Semantische Analyse ist ein Werkzeug, um Spam vorzubeugen und den relativen Wert einer Seite für bestimmte Suchanfragen zu etablieren.

SEO-Berater

[SEO consultants] I.T. Experten, die Kunden beraten zu Themen wie Keyword-Analyse, Website und Inhalt-Optimierung, Zielgruppen Verhalten, überwachung der Leistung der Website und Backlink Generierung.

SERP

Search Engine Results Page. Die Seite der möglichen Websites und andere Internetressourcen (Videos, Bilder, Karten), die die Suchanfrage des Nutzers erfüllen sollten. SERPs listen Webseiten nach Parametern wie Relevanz und Autorität auf. Die meisten Ergebnisse sind organische Resultate, bestimmt durch die Indexe der Suchmaschine. Einige aber sind vom Seiteninhaber bezahlt, um eine prominente Position zu bekommen.

Spamming

Versuche, das Ranking einer minderwertigen Website durch Techniken zu erhöhen, welche unfair und für den Anwender irreführend sind. Diese werden von Suchmaschinen als illegitim betrachtet. Spamming schliesst Cloaking, Keyword-Spamming, Inhaltsklau, Page scraping (Inhalt rauben), Inhaltsvervielfältigung, falsch gekennzeichnet Links und Link farming mit ein.

Spider

[Spinne] Suchmaschinen sammeln Informationen über eine Website durch die Verwendung von Computer Programmen, den sogenannten Spiders. Die Website wird zugegriffen und Informationen werden gesammelt. Gesammelte Informationen sind beispielsweise die Verwendung und Verteilung bestimmter Schlüsselwörter, sowie der relative Wert und Relevanz von Schlüsselelementen, wie zum Beispiel Titel und Website-Struktur. Links von und zu der Site werden ebenfalls bewertet.

Stichwort

[Keyword] Ein Wort oder eine Phrase, die regelmässig als Stichwort in einem Suchbegriff benutzt ist. Die Analytik von Schlüsselwörte, und ihre Targeting (Zielorientierte Platzierung von Stichworte in Webseiten) ist ein wichtiger Teil von SEO.

Stichwort-Analyse

[Keyword Analysis] Eine Reihe von Tools und Techniken, um ein genaues Verständnis der relativen Bedeutung von Stichwörtern für eine bestimmte Website oder Seite zu erwerben. Eine Stichwort-Analyse wird als erster Schritt des SEO-Konsultationsprozess durchgeführt und beinhaltet Brainstorming mit allen Beteiligten.

Struktur

Auch als Informationsarchitektur bekannt. Bei der Struktur handelt sich um die Zugänglichkeit von Informationen und der Klarheit seiner Darstellung thematischer Genauigkeit, in logischen und leicht zu verstehendem Muster. In einem CMS System muss die Struktur gewährleisten, sich selbst ohne Verlust von Zugänglichkeit und Klarheit zu wiederholen.

SWOT

Strengths (Stärken), Weaknesses (Schwächen), Opportunities (Möglichkeiten), Threats (Bedrohungen). Eine Technik im Marketing, welche die Analyse eines Unternehmens in Bezug auf die Konkurrenten erleichtert.

Title

Der Seitentitel, der sich im Kopfbereich des HTML-Dokument befindet, ist die ranghöchste Gelegenheit, Stichwörter strategisch zu platzieren. Entgegen der landläufigen Meinung, ist der Titel die einzigen Metadaten, die von den Suchmaschinen in ihrem Seiten-Ranking Systemen gilt.

URL

Universal Resource Locator. Die URL ist die Adresse einer Seite, die in der Menuleiste am oberen Rand aller Browser erscheint. Z.B.: http://www.sciencelibrary.info/library/computing/seo/SEO_Glossar.php. Die URL ist ein wichtiger Indikator über die Beschaffenheit der Website für die Suchmaschine und menschliche Navigatoren. Sie sollte deutlich lesbar sein, nicht-kodifiziert und der Suffix soll lokal sein (z.B. Ländercodes .ch, .de), um die Lokalisierung der Website auf einer Region zu beschränken. Generische Top Level Domains (.com, .info, .net) verlieren den Lokalisierungsvorteil im Ranking und sollten deshalb nur für internationale Websites verwendet werden.

Lugano English

Zitat des Tages...

Tun Sie an zukünftige Generationen, wie wir hoffen frühere Generationen an uns getan hatten.

ZumGuy Internet Promotions

English language school