Search Engines | Transalpine Internet Sevices

Transalpine has a department specialised in the highly technical field of website content optimization. We explain here how Content Engineering can improve the search engine performance of your website.

Return to Index

Search Engines

Search engines have been a service provided by private companies since the inception of the World Wide Web in 1992. Their intent is to provide access to FTP sites via a central system which collates and organises the vast amounts of data involved in categorising and evaluating sites according to the criteria of relevance to a searcher's query.

The earliest web crawlers, such as Archie (Alan Emtage, 1990), relied on directories related to computer files in a specific computer network, and Gopher (Mark McCahill, 1991), used a hypertext paradigm to search for plain text references in files. By 1993, as the World Wide Web grew to many web servers, search engines like Mosaic (1993), and Wandex (Matthew Gray, 1993) improved the natural language keyword capabilities of search engines, and began to crawl the web to catalogue indexed pages on the web. Gradually, the content that was indexed extended to the full text on a web page.

With the need for a more effective search engine, many start-ups appeared between 1993 and 1998. These included: Excite (1993), Yahoo! (1994), WebCrawler (1994), Lycos (1994), Infoseek (1994), AltaVista (1995), Inktomi (1996), and AskJeeves (1997 - now Ask).

Google

Today, the world's most popular search engine is Google. Google was a game-changer in the way search engines functioned. Previous search engines were unable to guarantee sufficiently well that a searcher's intent was being matched by the way sites were indexed. Words were not enough. The classic example is 'Jaguar'. The engines could not distinguish between the car make and the animal, or any other meaning a word or group of words might have. So both were presented, and it was up to the searcher to determine the relevancy of each site offered.

In 1998, Larry Page and Sergey Brin launched their search engine, Google, which worked by a novel system of relevancy ranking. The initial system was unsophisticated: it merely counted the occurrence of search terms within a page. Soon they added a rough assessment of a website's ranking among the internet community based on the number of links from other sites (backlinks) to that site. This is the PageRank™ link analysis algorithm, which Google uses to assign numerical weighting to linked documents.

One of the restricting factors in the operation of search engines is energy consumption. Being predominantly American, their foremost consideration in this regard is cost, rather than environmental. The total global electrical power consumption of search engine servers is of the order of several gigawatt (GW), providing potentially thousands of petaflops of processing power.

Google alone would require more than a quarter of a nuclear power station to operate its servers (ref: MIT article: What it takes to power Google). All of the data centres of the world consume 1.3% of the world's electricity production.

Search Engine Usage

Search engine popularity varies world region by region. Here is an overview:

EngineUSAUKGermanyItalyRussiaChina
Google63%90%89.7%95%34.5%32.9%
Yahoo!20.6%2.8%2.4%1.9%
bing8.2%2.1%2.3%0.6%
Ask1.6%0.66%
Yandex62%
Baidu51.5%
Others8.2%3.5%4.3%1.84%3.5%15.6%

Global distribution puts Google way ahead (August 2014):

GoogleBaiduYahoo!BingAOLAskOther
67.63%18.26%6.07%5.35%0.19%0.11%2.34%
Crawling and Indexing

Search engines can return many hundreds of thousands of results for a query in a fraction of a second. How do they do it? Are these real results, or simply a statistical estimate? And what is the point, if users typically look at not only just the first page of search results (SERP 1), but only the first 3 or 4 of these results?! (When did anyone mention to you '... I was about to become disheartened, but then, at result number 512,325, I found just what I was looking for...'?)

The huge number of results is not the intention of the search engine, rather a consequence of, and insight into, how the search engine works when it crawls and indexes the World Wide Web.

The search engines utilise a programme called a 'spider', which makes its way through the web via a series of strands and nodes. The strands are pages on a domain, and the nodes are hyperlinks to other domains. If there are many return hyperlinks (AKA backlinks) to the first domain, the spider will find itself visiting that domain more often than a site stuck out on its own.

Ranking

The spider collects data from its journey along the hyperlink highway, and ranks sites according to the perceived authority other sites grant them. The many elements which contribute to the complex and continuously-evolving algorithms used by search engines to rank pages are known as ranking factors or algorithmic ranking criteria. Google prefers the term signals.

Relevance

The search engines attempt to assess the many millions of sites containing key word matches to the query in terms of relevance. This is done by assessing the intent of the query, and the number of matching occurrences of the keywords, as well as the context they appear in on a page.

If a key word appears as the page title, or in a heading tag (h1, h2 ...), that page is ranked higher.

Importance

Importance can also be thought of as popularity. The more references (hyperlinks) there are from other sites to a site, and the more authoritative those referring sites are perceived to be, the higher the importance ranking the search gives a site.

Greater authority is gained if the context of the referring site matches the content of the target site. A blog dedicated to SEO issues will have more importance than a site with, say, an ad unrelated to the general content of the page it appears on.

Search operators

Search engines offer a number of systems for refining search queries. These include:

  • [jacket shops -fur]
  • excludes the term 'fur' from search returns about 'jacket shops'. For obvious reasons, 'fur shops' are of no interest.

  • [shops +jacket]
  • the word 'jacket' must appear in the search query results. This can be used to specify the inclusion of words that may normally be excluded as unimportant, such as the definite article, the. It is also useful for disambiguation. Andrew Bone +Science library.info -painter will ensure results about Andrew Bone the Sciencelibrary.info editor, and exclude results for the very fine painter by the same name.

  • ["science library"]
  • ensures the exact phrase 'science library' is searched for, a ¨somewhat smaller set than the billions of billions 'science' and 'library' individually would return

  • [quantum OR quanta]
  • pages which contain references to at least one of the two keywords

  • [site:www.sciencelibrary.info]
  • the search will be conducted only in the nominated domain

    [site:www.google.com] : this will give an indication of the number of domains indexed by Google

    [site:info] : limits the search to the nominated TLD (top-level domain)

    [site:zumguy.com -www.zumguy.com] : includes all sub-domains

  • [inurl:science]
  • ensures the word 'science' is in the url

    [allinurl:science library] : ensures both words appear in the url

  • [intitle:science]
  • ensures the word 'science' is in the page title

    [allintitle:science library] : ensures both words appear in the page title

  • [inanchor:science]
  • ensures the word 'science' is in the anchor text (the text used to refer to the page in a backlink)

    [allinanchor:science library] : ensures both words appear in the anchor text

  • [intext:Einstein]
  • ensures the word 'Einstein' is in the body text of a page

  • [ext:php] & [filetype:php]
  • either of these restricts the search to pages with the .php file extension

  • ["seo*compliance"]
  • will return any phrase which has 'seo' and 'compliance' with any word in between. e.g. 'seo design compliance' and 'seo structure compliance' are both returned

  • [Related:www.sciencelibrary.info]
  • returns related pages. If a site links to the page, this query returns other sites linked to by that site

  • [Info:www.sciencelibrary.info]
  • provides information about the page, such as the page title, description, related pages, and incoming links

  • [Cache:www.sciencelibrary.info]
  • shows the version of the page last time Google crawled it

    This information is imported from our site www.sciencelibrary.info. For further information, please visit the site, or contact us.

Transalpine traduzioni

Quote of the day...

De calcaria in carbonarium (out of the frying pan into the fire)

ZumGuy Internet Promotions

Vitruvian Boy

Suchmaschinen | Transalpine Internet Diestleistungen

Transalpine hat eine Abteilung, die in dem technischen Bereich der Website-Content-Optimierung spezialisiert ist. Wir erklären hier, wie Content Engineering die Suchmaschine-Leistung Ihrer Website verbessern kann.

Zurück zum SEO-Index

Suchmaschinen

Suchmaschinen sind eine Dienstleistung von Privatunternehmen seit der Gründung des World Wide Web im Jahr 1992. Ihre Absicht ist es, den Zugriff auf FTP-Sites über ein zentrales System zu gewährleisten. Dieses sammelt und organisiert die riesigen Datenmengen in Kategorien und bewertet die Websiten anhand von Wichtigkeit einer Suchanfrage des Nutzers.

Die frühesten Webcrawler, wie Archie (Alan Emtage, 1990), verliess sich auf Verzeichnisse von Computerdateien in einem bestimmten Computernetzwerk. Gopher (Mark McCahill, 1991) verwendet einen Hypertext-Paradigma für Klartext Referenzen in Dateien. Als um 1993 das World Wide Web immer schneller wuchs, verbesserten Suchmaschinen wie Mosaic und Wandex die natürliche Suchfunktion nach Stichworten und begann das Internet anhand von Indexe zu katalogisieren. Nach und nach wurde der Inhalte, welcher indexiert wurde, bis zum vollständigen Text erweitert.

Mit der Bedürfnis eine bessere Suchmaschine, begannen zwischen 1993 und 1998 viele Start-ups aufzutauchen. Beispiele dieser waren: Excite (1993), Yahoo! (1994), WebCrawler (1994), Lycos (1994), Infoseek (1994), AltaVista (1995), Inktomi (1996), und AskJeeves (1997 - jetzt Ask).

Google

Heute ist die weltweit beliebteste Suchmaschine Google. Google änderte grundlegend den Modus, wie Suchmaschinen funktionieren. Vorherige Suchmaschinen könnten nicht ausreichend garantieren, dass der Absicht des Anwenders übereinstimmte mit der Seite auf welche indexiert wurde. Worte waren nicht genug. Das klassische Beispiel ist "Jaguar". Die Suchmaschinen könnten nicht unterschieden zwischen der Automarke und dem Tier, oder jeder anderen Bedeutung eines Wortes oder eine Wortgruppe. Dadurch wurden beide angezeigt und es war die Pflicht des Suchenden, die Relevanz der einzelnen Websites zu ermitteln.

Im Jahr 1998, starten Larry Page und Sergey Brin ihre Suchmaschine Google, die mit einem neuartigen System, dem Relevanzgrad, arbeitete. Die ursprüngliche System dagegen war technisch veraltet: es zählte lediglich das Auftreten der Suchbegriffe innerhalb einer Seite. Aber bald verbreiteten sie die Funktionen mit einer grobe Einschätzung des Rankings einer Website unter der Internet Gemeinschaft, auf der Basis der Anzahl der Links von anderen Websites (Backlinks) zu dieser Website. Dies ist der PageRank™ Link-Analyse-Algorithmus, den Google verwendet, um eine numerische Gewichtung zu verknüpften Dokumenten zu erstellen.

Einer der limitierender Faktoren ist beim Betrieb von Suchmaschinen ist der Energieverbrauch. Der Gesamtstromverbrauch der Suchmaschinenserver ist in der Grössenordnung von mehreren Gigawatt (GW), welche für Bereitstellung von potenziell Tausenden von Petaflops Rechnenleistung benötigt wird.

Google allein verbraucht weltweit Strom von einen Viertel der Leistung einem Kernkraftwerk, um seine Server zu betreiben (ref: MIT article: What it takes to power Google). Alle Datenzentren der Welt verbrauchen 1,3% der weltweiten Stromproduktion.

Gebrauch von Suchmaschinen

Popularität von Suchmaschinen variiert von Region zu Region. Hier ist ein Überblick:

EngineUSAUKDeutschlandItalienRusslandChina
Google63%90%89.7%95%34.5%32.9%
Yahoo!20.6%2.8%2.4%1.9%
bing8.2%2.1%2.3%0.6%
Ask1.6%0.66%
Yandex62%
Baidu51.5%
Übrige8.2%3.5%4.3%1.84%3.5%15.6%

Globale Verteilung bringt Google einen grossen Vorsprung (August 2014):

GoogleBaiduYahoo!BingAOLAskÜbrige
67.63%18.26%6.07%5.35%0.19%0.11%2.34%

Crawling und Indexierung

Suchmaschinen können mehrere Hunderttausend Ergebnisse für eine Abfrage in einem Bruchteil einer Sekunde retournieren. Wie tun sie das? Sind das echte Ergebnisse, oder einfach eine statistische Schätzung? Und was beduetet es, wenn die Benutzer trotzdem nur die ersten 3 oder 4 dieser Egebnisse ansehen? Wann hat jemand je erwähnt: „Ich war schon entmutigt, aber dann, mit Suchresultat 512.325, fand ich was ich suchte...“?

Die Vielzahl von Suchresultaten ist keine Absicht, jedoch eine Konsequenz davon, wie die Suchmaschine funktioniert, wenn sie sich durch das World Wide Web bewegt und dabei Indexe davon kreiert.

Die Suchmaschinen verwenden ein Programm mit dem Namen "Spider", die sich über eine Reihe von Fäden und Knoten den Weg durch das Netz macht. Die Fäden sind Seiten auf eine Domäne, und die Knoten sind Hyperlinks zu anderen Domänen. Wenn es viele zurückführende Hyperlinks (AKA Backlinks) auf die erste Domäne gibt, wird die Spinne dieser Domain häufiger besuchen, als eine Website ohne viele solche Verweisungen.

Ranking

Die Spider sammelt Daten von seiner Reise entlang der Hyperlink-Netz und rangiert Websites nach der wahrgenommenen Autorität, die anderen Seiten ihnen gewähren. Die vielen Elemente, die die komplexen und ständig weiterentwickelnden Algorithmen von Suchmaschinen verwendet, sind als Ranking-Faktoren oder algorithmische Ranking Kriterien bekannt. Google bevorzugt den Ausdruck Signale.

Relevanz

Die Suchmaschinen versuchen, die vielen Millionen Websites, die die gleichen Stichwörter besitzen, zu beurteilen auf Basis der Relevanz. Dies wird getan durch die Beurteilung der Absicht der Abfrage und die Anzahl der passenden Ereignisse der Stichwörter, sowie den Kontext, in welchem sie auf einer Seite angezeigt werden.

Falls ein Schlüsselwort in dem Seitentitel erscheint, oder in dem Headingtag (h1, h2, h3, ...), wird die Seite höher positioniert für dieses Stichwort.

Wichtigkeit

Wichtigkeit kann auch als Popularität gesehen werden. Je mehr Verweisungen (Hyperlink) es gibt von anderen Websiten zu eine Webseite, und diese verweisende Seiten als massgebend betrachtet sind, desto höher wird die Klassifikation der Wichtigkeit, welche die Suchmaschine der Seite zugeordnet.

Grössere Autorität wird gewonnen, wenn der Kontext der verweisenden Website mit dem Inhalt des Zielortes übereinstimmt. Ein Blog, welcher sich Themen der SEO widmet, hat eine höhere Wichtigkeit, als eine Seite mit eine Werbung, die nichts mit dem allgemeinen Inhalt der Seite zu tun hat.

Such Operatoren

Suchmaschinen bieten eine Vielzahl an Systemen, mit welchem eine Suchanfrage verfeinert sein kann. Diese sind, unter anderen:

  • [jacket shops -fur]
  • schliesst den Begriff 'Pelz' von Suchergebnisse für 'Jackenladen' aus.

  • [shops +jacket]
  • das Wort "Jacke" muss in den Suchabfrageergebnisse angezeigt werden. Dies kann verwendet werden um spezifizierende Wörtern einzuschliessen, die sonst ausgeschlossen werden können, z.B. der bestimmte Artikel: der, die, oder das. Es ist auch nützlich für die Begriffserklärung. "Andrew Bone + Sciencelibrary.info -painter" führt zu Ergebnisse über Andrew Bone, den Editor von Sciencelibrary.info. Es schliesst Ergebnisse vom ausgezeichneten Kunstmaler, mit dem gleichen Namen, aus.

  • ["science library"]
  • führt zum genauen Begriff 'science library'. Damit hat man viel weniger Ergebnisse als für alle Ergenisse für 'science' und 'library' separat gesucht.

  • [quantum OR quanta]
  • Seiten, die auf mindestens eines der zwei Stichworte verweisen.

  • [site:www.sciencelibrary.info]
  • die Suche beschränkt sich auf die nominierte Domain.

    [site:www.google.com]: gibt eine Abschätzung über die Anzahl Domains, welche von Google indexiert werden.

    [site:info]: beschränkt die Suche auf die nominierte TLD (top-level Domain, z.B. .com).

    [site:zumguy.com -www.zumguy.com]: schliesst alle Unterdomain mit ein.

  • [inurl:science]
  • versichert, dass das Wort 'science' in der URL ist.

    [allinurl:science library]: versichert, dass beide Wörter in der URL sind.

  • [intitle:science]
  • versichert, dass das Wort 'science' im Seitentitel ist.

    [allintitle:science library]: versichert, dass beide Wörter im Seitentitel sind.

  • [inanchor:science]
  • versichert, dass das Wort 'science' im Anchortext (der Text, der als Referenz im Backlink benutzt wird) beinhaltet ist

    [allinanchor:science library]: versichert, dass beide Wörter im Anchortext sind

  • [intext:Einstein]
  • versichert, dass das Wort 'Einstein' im Bodytext der Seite ist

  • [ext:php] & [filetype:php]
  • beide beschränken die Suche auf Seiten mit der Dateierweiterung .php

  • ["seo*compliance"]
  • retournierten werden die Phrasen, die "SEO" und "Compliance" beinhalteten, mit einem Wort dazwischen. Z.B. werden beide "seo design compliance" und "seo structure compliance" angezeigt.

  • [Related:www.sciencelibrary.info]
  • wenn eine Website auf diese Seite verlinkt, gibt diese Suchabfrage anderen Websiten an, die auch von dieser Seite verlinkt sind.

  • [Info:www.sciencelibrary.info]
  • liefert Informationen über die Seite, wie zum Beispiel den Seitentitel, die Beschreibung, verwandte Seiten und eingehende Links

  • [Cache:www.sciencelibrary.info]
  • zeigt die Version der Seite, die Aktuel war das letzte Mal Google sie besucht hat.

    Diese Informationen sind aus unserer Website www.sciencelibrary.info importiert worden. Für weitere Informationen, bitte konsultieren Sie die Website, oder kontaktieren Sie uns: Kontakt.

ContentWizard.ch

Zitat des Tages...

Mir wurde gesagt, dass Wagners Musik ist besser als sie klingt.

ZumGuy Internet Promotions

ScienceLibrary